Accommodations

written by | Posted on May 2nd, 2012

Contact Information

Alila Hotels and Resorts: alilahotels.com

Ananda in the Himalayas: anandaspa.com

Cambay Hotels & Resorts: thecambay.com

The Claridges Hotels & Resorts: claridges-hotels.com

Devi Garh: deviresorts.in

Fort Tiracol Heritage Hotel: forttiracol.com

Fortune Select Loudon: fortunehotels.in

Grand Hyatt Mumbai: mumbai.grand.hyatt.com

The Imperial: (800) 323-7500; theimperialindia.com or preferredhotels.com

ITC Hotels: (800) 102-2333; itchotels.in

KTDC Hotels & Resorts: ktdc.com

The Leela Palaces, Hotels and Resorts: (800) 426-3135; theleela.com

Mayfair Gangtok: mayfairhotels.com

Oberoi Hotels: (800) 562-3764; oberoihotels.com

The Park Hotels: theparkhotels.com

Taj Hotels, Resorts and Palaces: (866) WOW 1 TAJ; tajhotels.com

Taj Safaris: (866) 969-1825; tajsafaris.com

WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace: welcomheritagehotels.com

Fast Facts

Capital city: New Delhi

Currency: Indian rupee

Exchange rate: US$1 = 51.03 rupee (approximately)

Area: 1,269,219 sq. miles (slightly more than one-third the size of the U.S.)

Border countries: Bangladesh, Bhutan, Myanmar, China, Nepal and Pakistan

Population: 1,170,938,000

Time zone: There is only one time zone for all of India; Indian Standard Time is 5.5 hours ahead of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT+5.5)

Electric current: 220 volts

Language: Hindi is the most widely spoken language and primary tongue of 41 percent of the people; there are more than 22 other languages. English is the most important language for national, political, and commercial communication

Climate/Best time to go: India’s climate is defined by three seasons—the hot, the wet (monsoon) and the cool, each of which can vary in duration from north to south. The best time to visit most of the country is during the cooler period of October to March, although this does vary by region since the country is so large. But India can be visited year-round

Tipping: In hotels, porters and room service attendants are generally tipped at the end of the stay; in restaurants, the tip to waiters is around 10-15 percent of the bill. In cases of restaurants of famous and prestigious hotels, generally a 10 percent service surcharge is added to the bill. Tipping taxi and three-wheeler driver is not too common. However, if you want to give a tip, then 10 percent of the fare or leaving the change is enough. If your clients are hiring a car throughout their stay, tip the driver 50-100 rupees per day, depending on the distance traveled. At railway stations, pay the porters around 5-10 rupees per bag

Holidays: New Year’s Day: Jan.1; Republic Day: Jan. 26; Milad-Un-Nabi (an important religious festival for Muslims, as it is the birthday celebration of Prophet Muhammad): Jan. 23-24, 2013; Holi (the festival of colors) March 27, 2013; Good Friday: March 29, 2013; Easter Sunday: March 31, 2013; Independence Day: Aug. 15; Eid ul-Fitr (end of Ramadan): Aug. 18-19, 2012; Mahatma Gandhi’s Birthday: Oct. 2; Vijayadashami (celebrating victory of Shakti over Mahishasura, of Lord Rama over Ravana, and of Durga over demons): Oct. 24, 2012; Diwali (Hindu Festival of Light): Nov. 13, 2012; Guru Nanak’s Birthday: Nov. 11; and Christmas Day: Dec. 25

Information please: incredibleindia.org

Simple terms in Hindi

Hello – namaste, Namaskar

Hi – Suno, Suniye

Mr. – shrimaan

Mrs. – shrimati

Miss – kumari

Master – Kumar

Bye – alvida

Thank you – dhanyavaad

Good morning – shubh prabhat,

Su prabhat

Good evening – shubh sandhya

Good night – shubh ratri

Take care – apna khayal rakhna

See you later – phir milen-gey